Faculty Directory

A listing of full- and part-time faculty teaching for the academic year.

See also our list of Faculty Assistants and our Staff Directory.

Faculty Adjunct Faculty Trial Technique Instructors

Many of our full-time faculty hold doctorates in areas other than law, bringing the insights of such disciplines as anthropology, sociology and psychology to their research and teaching. Their innovative and thoughtful scholarship reflects this rich and diverse background and enriches the classroom experience beyond measure.

A, BCDEFGHLMOPRSTWFaculty Emeriti

A

Abramovsky, Aviva

Dean

School of Law

319 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: aabramov@buffalo.edu

Abraham, Heather

Associate Professor; Director of the Civil Rights & Transparency Clinic

School of Law

524 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2073

Email: habraham@buffalo.edu

Adelman, Elizabeth

Vice Dean for Legal Information Services; Director of the Law Library; Teaching Faculty

School of Law

433 Capen Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2089

Email: eadelman@buffalo.edu

B

Barbas, Samantha

Professor; Director, Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy

School of Law

523 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6216

Email: sbarbas@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Christine P.

Professor; Law Review Advisor

School of Law

709 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7399

Email: cpb6@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Mark

Professor

School of Law

617 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5959

Email: bartholo@buffalo.edu

Bernstein, Anya

Professor

School of Law

624 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3683

Email: anyabern@buffalo.edu

Binder, Guyora

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Hodgson Russ Faculty Scholar; Vice Dean for Research and Faculty Development

School of Law

716 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2673

Email: gbinder@buffalo.edu

Boucai, Michael

Professor

School of Law

413 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1743

Email: mboucai@buffalo.edu

Braverman, Irus

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

School of Law

625 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3030

Email: irusb@buffalo.edu

Brown, S. Todd

Professor; Vice Dean for Academic Affairs

School of Law

316 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: stbrown2@buffalo.edu

C

Chiesa, Luis E.

Professor; Director of the Criminal Law LL.M.; Director of the Buffalo Criminal Law Center

School of Law

715 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3152

Email: lechiesa@buffalo.edu

Connolly, Kim Diana

Professor; Director of Clinical Legal Education; Vice Dean for Advocacy and Experiential Education

School of Law

519 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2092

Email: kimconno@buffalo.edu

D

Dimick, Matthew

Professor

School of Law

618 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7968

Email: mdimick@buffalo.edu

Drew, Helen "Nellie"

Professor of Practice in Sports Law; Director of the Center for the Advancement of Sport

School of Law

619 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5591

Email: hdrew@buffalo.edu

F

Finley, Lucinda M.

Frank G. Raichle Professor of Trial and Appellate Advocacy; Director of Moot Courts

School of Law

513 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6152

Email: finleylu@buffalo.edu

Forman, Heidi L.

Teaching Faculty

Faculty Assistant: Cheryl Jones

718 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5339

Email: hlforman@buffalo.edu

French, Rebecca R.

Professor

School of Law

529 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2159

Email: rrfrench@buffalo.edu

G

Gardner, James A.

Bridget and Thomas Black SUNY Distinguished Professor

School of Law

514 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3607

Email: jgard@buffalo.edu

Gargano, Bernadette

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Director of the LAWR Program; Vice Dean for Student Affairs

School of Law

313 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6223

Email: gargano@buffalo.edu

Gelernter, Lise

Teaching Faculty

School of Law

522 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5540

Email: gelernt@buffalo.edu

H

Halpern, Philip

Professor

School of Law

623 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3039

Email: phalpern@buffalo.edu

Harrington, Alexandra

Associate Professor; Director of the Criminal Justice Advocacy Clinic

School of Law

527 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2108

Email: aharr@buffalo.edu

Higgins, Michael

Staff Attorney & Government Accountability and Press Freedom Clinical Teaching Fellow, Civil Liberties & Transparency Clinic

School of Law

516 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3041

Email: mh93@buffalo.edu

L

Lazar, Stuart G.

Professor; Co-Director, New York City Program in Finance and Law

School of Law

615 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2749

Email: slazar@buffalo.edu

Lewis, Meredith Kolsky

Professor; Director of the Cross-Border Legal Studies Center; Vice Dean for International and Graduate Programs

School of Law

719 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1631

Email: mlewis5@buffalo.edu

Linden-Retek, Paul

Lecturer in Law & Society; Research Fellow at the Baldy Center for Law & Social Policy

School of Law

418 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2093

Email: plinden@buffalo.edu

Long, Patrick J.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

720 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2869

Email: pjlong@buffalo.edu

M

McDuff, Angelyn

Lecturer in Law

School of Law

722 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8182

Email: angelynd@buffalo.edu

Melish, Tara J.

Professor; Director, Buffalo Human Rights Center; Specialty Journals Advisor

School of Law

525 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2257

Email: tmelish@buffalo.edu

Miller, Teresa A.

Professor

School of Law

515 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2391

Email: tmiller@buffalo.edu

Milles, James G.

Professor; Vice Dean for Undergraduate Studies

School of Law

419 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5543

Email: jgmilles@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Athena D.

Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

528 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2873

Email: admutua@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Makau W.

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Margaret W. Wong Professor

School of Law

626 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2311

Email: mutua@buffalo.edu

O

Odunsi, Tolulope F.

Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion; Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

723 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2354

Email: tfodunsi@buffalo.edu

Olin, Judith

Associate Clinical Professor; Director, Family Violence and Women’s Rights Clinic

School of Law

530 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3076

Email: judyolin@buffalo.edu

O'Rourke, Anthony

Joseph W. Belluck and Laura L. Aswad Professor of Civil Justice; Director of the Advocacy Institute

School of Law

710 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3097

Email: aorourke@buffalo.edu

P

Paskey, Stephen

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

621 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5044

Email: sjpaskey@buffalo.edu

Phillips, Stephanie L.

Professor

School of Law

420 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2201

Email: slp@buffalo.edu

R

Reilly, Laura B.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

425 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3046

Email: lreilly@buffalo.edu

Rowan, Katrin

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Assistant Dean for International and Graduate Programs

School of Law

416 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3107

Email: katrinro@buffalo.edu

S

Saran, Melinda

Teaching Faculty; Vice Dean for Social Justice Initiatives

614 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6603

Email: saran@buffalo.edu

Schlegel, John Henry

University at Buffalo Distinguished Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

526 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2746

Email: schlegel@buffalo.edu

Semet, Amy

Associate Professor

School of Law

522 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2093

Email: amysemet@buffalo.edu

Steilen, Matthew

Professor

School of Law

724 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8966

Email: mjsteile@buffalo.edu

T

Taussig-Rubbo, Mateo

Professor

School of Law

616 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5992

Email: taussig@buffalo.edu

W

Westbrook, David A.

Louis A. Del Cotto Professor; Co-Director, New York City Program in Finance and Law

School of Law

521 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2490

Email: dwestbro@buffalo.edu

Wooten, James A.

Professor

School of Law

713 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2318

Email: jwooten@buffalo.edu